• 13—17 May 2024
  • Berlin, Germany

The Classical:NEXT Innovation Award raises awareness of forward-thinking projects taking place around the world, as nominated by the dedicated Nominating Committee. For the 2022 Innovation Award, 15 music journalists and experts from 13 countries make up the Committee. Their role is to inform classical music professionals about potential recipients outside of their own national or professional periphery and their work focuses on renewal and trends in classical music. Nominations from the Committee form the initial Longlist, from which they select the final 10 nominations for the Shortlist.

The Classical:NEXT 2022 Innovation Award Ceremony took place on Friday 20 May 2022 at Schauspiel Hannover, moderated by Brendan Jan Walsh, artistic director, Global Leaders Program.
Meet the Recipients: Death of Classical (USA); Ngarra Burria (Australia); Orquesta Filarmónica de Medellín (Colombia).

Radio Session  Shortlist 2022  Nominating Committee 

Innovation Award Recipients 2022

Innovation Award Recipients 2021

Innovation Award Recipients 2020

About the Innovation Award

Longlist, Shortlist, Public Vote - How it works: After each Nominating Committee member has named their chosen projects, the same experts then vote collectively to reach the top ten. Once the Shortlist has been determined, you - the delegates - will have your say. The entire Classical:NEXT community, made up of more than 5,000 delegates who have attended Classical:NEXT since 2012, have the opportunity to place an online vote to decide the recipients of the Classical:NEXT Innovation Award through C:N NET.

The Classical:NEXT Innovation Award was added as a new initiative during the 2015 edition, designed to place the spotlight on forward-thinking activities taking place around the world. The new award is complementary to already existing industry awards. The goal of this honorary prize is to raise awareness of innovative activities going on all over the world. The composition of the Nominating Committee (see below) is intended to inform classical music professionals about worthwhile experiments and approaches taking place beyond their own respective national scenes or from locations which receive much publicity.